Stars of Tomorrow NYC Bound

Stars of Tomorrow NYC Bound (NHSMTA Local Competition), Presented by Palmer’s, Sponsored by WROC Channel 8,
celebrated its inaugural season in June 2009. The Leading Male and Female role award recipients from the Stars of Tomorrow Recognition Ceremony, Presented by Palmer’s Direct To You Market, are eligible to participate in an additional competition at the Auditorium Theatre. In ‘American Idol’ fashion, the participants are narrowed down by appointed judges until one Leading Male and one Leading Female are selected to represent Rochester, NY in a national competition in New York City; the National High School Musical Theatre Awards (NHSMTA). The winning male and female at the NHSMTA National Competition are selected by a panel of experts following five days of musical theater rehearsals, master classes, private coaching and interviews with theater professionals. Based on their skill level and professional goals, students are eligible for college scholarships, professional internships, career coaching and opportunities for auditions.

The 2018 Stars of Tomorrow NYC Bound (NHSMTA Local Competition) will be held on Thursday, May 24th at RBTL’s Auditorium Theatre. 
The annual NHSMTA / Jimmy Awards takes place in New York City in June.

For more information, please contact Holly Valentine at (585) 277-3338 or

Past Winners:

Gavin McClelland & Marissa Bland

NHSMTA '10blast

Joe Pudetti & Krystal Lawton

2009_Joe & Krystal

Shauni Ruetz & Daniel Walton

2011_Shauni & Dan

Josh Carey & Maureen Edwards

2012_Josh & Maureen

MacKenzie Wright & Stephen Heller

winners for web 2013

Alvis Green & Maureen Edwards


Molly Feldman & Noah Barnes


Mark Mitrano & Abby DeWitte


Shelby Ennis & Jack D’Angelo